Today I Set Free A Bird That was Trapped in a Classroom. Feeling Great

Monday.

The Depression, again.

The weight of it, sinking into my bed.

This can’t go on. This dread, every time a work week begins? I know many do it. I can’t be one of the many.

I won’t.

With my girls’ blessing and understanding (I could never do this to her without her. My actions affect her) I went to Human Resource. Found out my vacation time gets added into my last check. But I’ll lose my sick days so I may have an illness or two before I go.

This has been a long time coming, but I know a few loved ones will still see this as irresponsible. So let’s look at some of the things I’ll be giving up:

Health Insurance

I admit, this is a big one. But it’s not the first time, or second, that I’ve lived without it. I’m in the best health I’ve ever had, and it’s only going to get better. And yes, I know that health cannot account for everything. Guess what, that’s life. You can’t account for everything, and I wont live in fear of the unknown. And considering The Depression was getting worse I was only gonna need the insurance for therapy and drugs anyway.

A Paycheck

Once again, can’t argue how good these can be. But here’s a little fact: I was only paid enough to pay my bills and not much else. My rent and expenses are sure to go up. My salary? Not so guaranteed. Think I’ll try for something a bit more ambitious.

Someone Else Controlling My Hours

Happy to say goodbye to this one. I’ve missed a lot of time with family and friends because of this job. Time cannot be replaced, cash can.

The Stress of Other People

I don’t completely hate people, but I do need control over who I spend time with. Jobs don’t afford you that choice.

I could go on, but I have to return to work, at least for a little bit. I’ll be posting when I give my two weeks notice. And to those who have been supportive, thanks a load. For those who can’t, no worries. But I can’t sacrifice my happiness for yours.

Leave a Reply

